Home > Opposition candidates, PAP candidates, Signs > Haven’t felt so nationalistic in a long while

Haven’t felt so nationalistic in a long while

Imagine a time where every where you turn is a Singaporean and speaks with a local accent. Imagine the nationalistic fervor that you once felt when you stood in the national stadium for National Day. I managed to reminisce that feeling when I attended the Workers’ Party rally at Serangoon stadium. For once in a long time, I felt like home.

Nationalism is a dirty word in an open society like Singapore. Somehow, it is linked with the word Protectionism. It insinuate unwillingness to be open to foreign elements. Yet, we see how important cohesiveness is in countries like Japan when the tsunami struck and Korea when it jumped back to an economic power a few years ahead of schedule after the Asian Financial Crisis. Do Singaporeaneans felt less nationalistic nowadays? I must say I do. There is so much resonance when a student in NUS told Goh Chok Tong that he doesn’t know what he is protecting nowadays as an NSmen.

I certainly agree with WP East Coast GRC candidate Eric Tan when he said we, as Singaporeans, are not anti-foreigners by nature. It’s the influx of foreigners that made us anti-foreigners. When I looked around in my office and see that less than 40% are Singaporeans, I felt like a minority back in the United States. Then we see news of how new citizens supported the PAP (reported in chinese newspaper zaobao: http://www.zaobao.com.sg/ge/pages/ge110428s.shtml) showing how much love the ruling oparty has for foreginers. The question we now wish to ask is: Why is the ruling party so much more welcoming of the foreigners, giving them more opportunities than their own citizens? Why is the ruling party making so much efforts to attract and kowtow to foreigners pushing away their own talents?

I looked around my office and think about the foreign classmates and colleagues I had. Are they really considered talents? In my opinion, I don’t think so. Then why are all of them allowed into Singapore? Aren’t we being too open? The PAP has lost it. After going to the rally and experiencing so much resonance with what the WP candidates had said, I conclude that the PAP had lost it.

  1. Singaporean
    February 28, 2012 at 6:43 am

    I totally agree with you. the last time I recited my pledge was during my school days more than 2 decades ago. When i attended the WP rally, I felt like a SINGAPOREAN as I recited it again. As i rewatched the video, I felt like crying… everybody was reciting it with pride & patriotism.

    However, when I went to attend the PAP rally, it wasn’t the same. They were just bragging their achievements & daggling the carrot at us – the improved amenities…..but I thought it was our own (tax-payers) money but why is it treated as if it was theirs…sign

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

